Knitting Baby Stuff: Chunky Cotton Chevron Blanket

Pattern: Chevron Baby Blanket

IMG_4107

Close up detail.

Source: Ravelry

Price: Free!!

Yarn: Rosàrio’s 4 70’s Cotton

Needle: 8mm circular

Rather than knitting with two strands of 10ply, I knit with a single strand of this chunky cotton on 8mm needles. I knit this while pregnant and it quickly became my nemesis. We would face off over a few rows each night as a sort of penance while I completed other more enjoyable projects. What made this a less enjoyable knit was the chunkiness of it all on short little needles and the complete lack of stretch in the yarn made it tiresome to work with. I could never quite get into a rhythm.

However, now that the nemesis is defeated and this blanket is complete. I love it. Love love love it. W spends his floor play time on this rug and it’s super soft, squishy and delicious.

I did have a slight heartbreak moment when I washed it for the first time. The yellow dye ran slightly despite a cold machine wash giving the white stripes a faint jaundiced tinge, but I figured that this blanket is destined for far worse by way of poonamis and projectile spews. So, with that in mind, I tried very hard not to cry about it.

IMG_4078

Just chillin’ on my chevron.

Pearls:

  • If you’re new to circulars, or cotton, or chunky yarn, or large knits or all four, be prepared for some work as you get to know these beasts.
  • I knit colours in pseudorandom sequence (e.g. A-B-A-C-B-C-A-B-A) rather than stripes (e.g. A-B-C-A-B-C-A-B-C) and think it worked pretty well.
3 thoughts on “Knitting Baby Stuff: Chunky Cotton Chevron Blanket

Leave a Reply

