Knitting: A Foray into Fair Isle

I’ve never done fair isle before. I have been terrified. Probably of discovering that I’m crap at it. I suspected I’d be crap at it. That I’d end up with some puckered and tangled mess. But, it turns out, I can do it! Albeit on a rather small scale at this point. The instructions for this project included the tip of carrying one colour on top and the other underneath and I was very impressed by how neat and tidy my wrong side looked! (Of course, I completely forgot to take a photo of it for you.)

fair isle

As well as being my first foray into fair isle, this is also the first toy I’ve made! Not sure it’s quite up to standard for tolerating the rough play of a 4-month-old (though I did sew the eyes with embroidery thread rather than using beads to keep it choke hazard free), I’m hoping that W will eventually have fun with his new mate, Lars. Might need to wait until he’s past the whole everything-must-go-in-my-mouth phase. Suspect Lars’s stuffing may get fairly feral if sucked on.

I blocked rather than steamed the clothing pieces as I made them and my snowballs required a bit of trial and error to get a good shape, but otherwise this was a well written pattern and I’m pretty chuffed with my results.

Pattern: Winter Mice (Lars)

Source: Mary Jane’s Tea Room (via Etsy)

Price: $5.52 (to be quite precise)

Yarn: I used Sublime Baby Cashmere Merino Silk DK in Waterlily (005), Nutkin (275), Skipper (276) and Teddy Red (192) and scraps of some hideous pale pink nylon crap I had in my stash.

Needle: 2.75mm & 3mm straight needles

Now to make Lars a friend…

2 thoughts on “Knitting: A Foray into Fair Isle

Leave a Reply

