Knitting Baby Stuff: A Penchant for Chevron

I know. I know. It’s so ‘now’, that it’s nauseating. But, I like chevron. No, really. I do.

I’ve even just bought these to protect the rather impractically highly absorbent straps on W’s highchair (hello, pumpkin goo!).

Strap Covers for Ergobaby carrier and highchair harness by Liddle Berry @ Etsy. I'm in love.

Strap Covers for Ergobaby carrier and highchair harness by Liddle Berry @ Etsy. I’m in love.

There’s just something about those little zig-zaggy stripes that makes me just a little bit happier.

In addition to my chunky cotton chevron (details here), I’ve also been getting a lot of use out of this one. I knitted this before W was born. In fact, before I even knew he was a he. I was after something soft and cuddly and gender-neutral. I love the colours and the texture of this blanket is divine. The main pitfall is that is has a ‘wrong side’, which in a blanket is a bit of a flaw. But I do love chevron. So, I’ll make an exception.

Pattern: Chevron Baby Blanket

Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 8.08.36 pm

Detail of chevron baby blanket. I love the crisp look of a cotton knit.

Source: Espace Tricot Patterns

Price: Free!!

Yarn: Morris & Sons Avalon 10ply (Pima Cotton)

Needle: 5mm – I managed to knit this on straight needles, but circulars would have been far more sensible. I had an aversion to circulars at the time, but my recent spate of blanket knitting has cured me of such ill will.

Pearls: This pattern needs a good blocking to avoid edge curl.

One thought on “Knitting Baby Stuff: A Penchant for Chevron

Leave a Reply

